Finished peplum skirt

20140311-180506.jpgI finally got round to finishing my peplum skirt last week and I’m so happy that I chose this pattern, I love it. It’s the New Look 6003 and it has 6 variations of a pencil skirt including 3 different peplums.

I made view B because it is the one that the model is wearing in the picture which drew me towards this pattern in the first place. I chose to make it in one of my favourite skirt fabrics, 100% cotton drill. What I like about it is that it’s super easy to work with, it doesn’t shrink much (I have always managed to get away with not pre-washing the fabric) and I like the drape of the fabric – my skirts made with this always feel quite ‘structured’ if that makes sense.

Apart from the peplum, what I really like about this pattern is that there are no pleats in the front – I much prefer a flat fronted skirt as I feel that darts in the front tend to make me look a bit ‘pouchy’ around the middle. I made the usual waist adjustment for me and made a few more adjustments to the waist and side once I had cut the fabric out and pin fitted it to myself. A little bit difficult to do with no help and many pin-pricked fingers along the way but I got there in the end.

imageI followed the instructions precisely when sewing the pieces together although I had to freestyle a little when it came to the waistband. I much prefer a facing instead of a waistband so I made my own facing pattern pieces by tracing around the top of the skirt front and back, allowing for how deep I wanted the facing to be.

I was rushing to do this before the 3rd episode of sewing bee started but it worked! ( I absolutely love that programme ♥). I sewed the facing and the skirt right sides together and then understitched the facing to the seam allowance so that it stays nice and flat. I think it came out well.

My first outing for this skirt will be a Christening that I’m going to soon although I need to make a top to match. Luckily I’ve already got some lovely printed fabric so I just need to decide on a pattern and get stitching. I’ll probably use this skirt pattern loads because I love the fit and the other peplum variations. Do you have a favourite skirt pattern?
20140311-182044.jpgPeplum skirt

Leave a Reply

