Summer sewing plans

So Sunday was a beautiful day and now I’m full on thinking about what I need to make, instead of buy, for the summer. Over the last week or so I have spotted the fashion pages in a couple of magazines/newspapers and there are a lot of trends coming in that I like – florals, denim, metallics, bright colours and pastels.

image image                                 image

All I need to do now is decide on how I can work these ideas into my summer sewing projects.

First of all, I NEED a denim pencil skirt. I have seen a few around  but I want to create one of my own, preferably with a zip that goes all the way up the back. I already have a pattern that I can use as a guide (New Look 6003). I’ll need to hack it a bit though to work in the zip and maybe some pockets. Another summer make has to be a maxi skirt, I have a couple of maxi skirts/dresses and absolutely love wearing them in the summer, and I already have some floral fabric, so it’s a no-brainer. Major plus side here is that they are super easy to make. The last one I made was with an elasticated waistband and didn’t take long at all so I think I’ll opt for that approach this time. I’d also like to make a few stretchy tops for the summer, ideally to wear with my summer skirts or just with jeans. So hopefully I will master the art of sewing knits this month so I can just get on!

Leave a Reply

