Birthday strawberries!

For my niece’s birthday I decided to make her a gathered skirt and I was fortunate enough to come across some lovely fabric in Rolls and Rems last week. It is a smooth, soft, cotton with a beautiful strawberry print that I’m sure she will love. This type of skirt is super-quick to make and there are loads of tutorials online – there’s even instructions for an adult version of a gathered skirt in the new Great British sewing Bee: Sew Your Own Wardrobe book (which arrived on Tuesday, thanks to The Book People!

photo 2

I started off by sewing the back seam and making the waistband casing before hemming the bottom and then inserting the elastic. I also added some ric-rac to the bottom which I think looks lovely. I followed the instructions in this tutorial which I think are really clear and simple.

I did make a little mistake though, after I had sewed it all together I realised that I hadn’t pattern-matched the seam! Apart from that little blunder I’m pretty pleased with the outcome – so easy and quick that I’ll be making another on Friday – a girl can never have enough skirts! (and this time I will remember to match the pattern ♥).

20140314-204730.jpg

Leave a Reply

