The GBSB: sew your own wardrobe book

20140330-230812.jpg

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this book and I must say I’m impressed. I have the first sewing bee book which I think is really good but I think this one has got an improved format and more projects that I would actually make. The book is split into three main sections (fabric, fit and finish) and within each section there are projects which highlight each of these aspects of sewing. What’s even better is that after each project there is a mini masterclass showcasing various techniques such as inserting a zip or sewing buttonholes. There is also an upcycling project and a patternless project for the free-handers out there (Chinelo is a genius!).

I already have my eye on a few projects from this book, one of my favourites is the bowling shirt. I like the casual shape and the flat collar and especially the way they have used contrasting fabrics in the picture. I think when I make this I’ll also use a different colour fabric for the collar and cuff. Although it has darts in the front and the back is quite a loose fit so it will be perfect for casual summer days.

The draped top looks absolutely gorgeous. I love the gathers at the neckline and the low back. It’s a fantastic shape and as it’s one of the makes for beginner sewers it looks super easy to sew. There are only three pattern pieces and it’s a one size fits all garment. I have the pattern printed, ready to
go, I just need some fabric!

Last but not least is the yoke skirt. I have been looking for another skirt pattern for while and I saw something similar to this a while ago while surfing the net. I think the shape is gorgeous and because the main skirt pieces are cut on the bias the fabric drapes beautifully.

So I think those are my top three patterns from the book, I’m sure once I get started I’ll make many of the others. So have you got the new GBSB book, what’s your favourite pattern?

20140330-230857.jpg

Leave a Reply

