Fabric shopping + Walthamstow market = Joy!

I LOVE shopping for fabric! I think it’s one of the best things about sewing my own clothes, being able to choose the material and the pattern to make my dress/skirt/whatever just the way I like it. There’s so much to choose from aswell! Natural fibres are my favourite and I was tempted by some nice linen today but ended up going with cool cotton flowery, leafy, not-really-sure-what-it-is print from ‘the man outside Sainsburys’. The plan was to make a wearable muslin of New Look 6180 although I like this fabric so much I think it’s too nice to be classed as my muslin. Might have to make a muslin of the muslin!
20140405-153133.jpg

The Textile Centre also had some lovely fabrics. I usually pop by their stall in Watney market when I’m in the area and they always have something I like. This striking red, blue and white striped pattern immediately caught my eye and at £2.75 a meter I took 2! I have a skirt in mind for this and might even get round to sewing it up this week, if I have the time. I also picked up this ivory lacy fabric. Who knows what I’ll make with it, but I think I think it’s a nice addition to my stash. So where do you go shopping for fabrics? Are there any great other East London fabric shops/markets I should know about?

20140405-153020.jpg

20140405-183420.jpg

20140405-183535.jpg

Leave a Reply

