My freestyled New Look 6895…

Like the majority of patterns in my stash, I’ve had the New Look 6895 for a while now so I decided that it was time to make good use of it. This blog post actually comes to you a little late as I made the top on Saturday but hubby and I went to watch the London Marathon on Sunday so I haven’t had the time until now to post. My intention was to make view C (the top right-hand-side one) and I had some lovely cream fabric (again from the stall in Watney market) that I bought a few weeks ago.

20140414-112144.jpg

The pattern calls for a button at the back but I decided to freestyle and insert a zip instead. Only thing is that while sewing the back seam I sewed it all the way to the top! I could have unpicked it to insert the zip but I had already pinked the seam allowance to combat fraying and felt that if I put the zip in I would have had to sew so close to the fabric edge that the zip would be quite revealed, which I didn’t want.

I think I managed to overcome this error though by inserting a zip into the side seam although the knock-on effect was that I couldn’t then add sleeves, Doh! So now I have a vest instead of a t-shirt but at least I can get it on and off! I also have some spare sleeves now waiting to be used as a contrast on another top :o)

20140414-171921.jpg

I also decided to add pleats to the front instead of the gathers written in the pattern instructions. I bound the neck and shoulder edges with some plain bias-binding but for the bottom edge I used a cream binding that has little pink flowers on. I spotted it in my Quality Street tin full of ribbons and bindings and since it’s been sitting there for ages I thought I should use it up.

20140414-175953.jpg

I wasn’t sure at first if I liked the flowery edge on this top but it’s growing on me, the more I look at it the more I like it. So overall the lesson of the day is if you make a mistake, freestyle and make it work! Have you made any sewing mistakes that have turned out okay in the end? Let me know! Char x

20140414-180019.jpg

 

And just in case you are interested, here are some pics of some of the amazing fancy dress costumes that I saw on Sunday, Enjoy x

1211

1266

1210

1264

 

 

Posted in Top

2 thoughts on “My freestyled New Look 6895…

  1. I love that top, I have the same pattern somewhere in my ever growing stash. And the pleat looks perfect in front. You certainly took a lemon and turned it into lemonade. Great job!

Leave a Reply

