Simplicity 1363 top

I have been wanting to add a few new tops to my me-made wardrobe and this is one of the patterns that I ordered recently as I was looking for a loose-fitting drapey top.

IMG_2046.JPG

I made this up in an afternoon in this viscose print that I bought a couple of weeks beforehand. This was my first attempt at sewing with viscose – it’s was a little tricky as it had a tendency to move around a bit but I really do like the drape of the fabric so a little trouble is worth it in my mind.

IMG_3578.JPG

Although described as ‘easy-to-sew’ on the pattern envelope it wasn’t all plain sailing for me. I found attaching the neck band to the front and back pieces a bit difficult as well as making the button loops, which I gave up on and used bias binding instead. The instructions say to make a narrow tube of fabric and then turn it inside out but I found that it’s just too narrow to turn in on itself, so out came the binding. I also got a bit over zealous when clipping the seams and cut right through the stitching! I managed to save it though by covering the snip with interfacing on the wrong sides of the fabric.

IMG_3780.JPG

I found this little buttons in Rolls and Rems (Lewisham) which I think are quite nice…

IMG_2091.JPG

I cut a straight size 4 and the fit is good. The thing I like most about this pattern is the dipped hem and that the seaming allows for mixing colours and patterns. As I’ve used only 1 fabric here you can’t really see the seam detail but the next time I make this I’ll definitely mix maybe a patterned back and front with plain side panels. I think it could even be hacked into a nice summer dress!

IMG_2097.JPG

It looks a bit straight up and down on the hanger so I had to go outside…

IMG_3838.JPG

IMG_3835.JPG

Cx

Posted in Top

4 thoughts on “Simplicity 1363 top

  1. Gorgeous top! The fabric is lovely and it looks great on 🙂 I stocked up on a few Simplicity and New Look patterns in their sale recently – I think they’re really good for basics you can jazz up with nice fabric!

  2. You’re living the dream!! knocking that up in an afternoon!!! The top looks straight out of a shop, accept your buttons are gorgeous (I hate lovely tops/coats in high street with buttons that aren’t nice.) Lovely fabric, it works so well with the shape

Leave a Reply

